India D maintain unbeaten record, storm into Women’s Challenger final | Cricket News

VIJAYAWADA: All-rounder Pooja Vastrakar led from the front with a run-a-ball 96 to help India D beat India A by 22 runs and storm into the Women’s Challenger Trophy final with an unbeaten record on Tuesday.
The final of the four-team tournament, to be played on Thursday, will be a repeat match between India D, who won all their league games, and India A, who advanced on better run rate than India B and India C with three teams tied at one win each.
India D scored 219 for 7 with Vastrakar’s help and India A could only reach 197 for seven in 50 overs.
India left-arm spinner Rajeshwari Gayakwad bowled a miserly spell for India D, conceding just 20 runs in 10 overs and took a wicket.
Vastrakar also took a wicket after her match-winning effort with the bat.
India are looking for more power-hitters in the middle-order ahead of the ODI World Cup and Vastrakar enhanced his reputation on that front. She has already played two Tests, 10 ODIs and 23 T20Is.
Vastrakar is the third highest run-getter in the tournament and has also taken five wickets in three games. V Chandu, who played for India B, is the leading wicket-taker in the competition with 10 scalps at an average of 11.
Harleen Deol, a regular in India’s T20 set-up, made her case for a comeback into the 50-over national side by scoring 181 runs in three games for India B.
Kanika Ahuja has also impressed with the ball for India D, taking eight wickets in three games at an average of 15.

Source link